

Nazarbayev University Environmental Health and Safety Committee Terms of Reference

1. Authority

The Environmental Health and Safety Committee (hereinafter – the "Committee") is an advisory body under the Research Council.

Decisions taken within the scope of the Committee's authority are advisory in nature.

The Committee shall:

- 1. Provide oversight and approval of NU's policies, practices and procedures within the domain of environmental health and safety.
- 2. Provide a review and endorsement of safety-providing mechanisms.
- 3. Provide a means for identifying and disseminating best practice university-wide

The Committee shall function by holding meetings once in a month and otherwise as needed. The Committee may set up appropriate working and project groups for considering certain range of issues as the membership deem necessary.

2. Membership

The Environmental Health and Safety Committee shall consist of the following members:

#	Name	Position
1	Simon Jones	Provost, Chair of the Committee
2	Zhaksybay Zhumadilov	CEO, Centre for Life Sciences
3	Almaz Sharman	Chairman, Supervisory Board, Centre for Life Sciences
4	Jeffrey Brown	Chief Operating Officer, School of Engineering
5	Zachary Cofran	Assistant Professor, School of Humanities and Social Sciences
6	Paul Halman	Health, Safety and Senior Fire and Evacuation Marshal, Centre for Preparatory Studies
7	Timothy Shipley	Assistant Professor, School of Science and Technology
8	Arman Khussainov	Health and Safety Engineer, Centre for Energy Research
9	Aliya Rakisheva	Head, Corporate Development and Marketing Division, University Service Management
10	Charles Gilman	Assistant Professor, School of Science and Technology, Executive Office of the Committee